Skip to main content
This section is included in your selections.

A. Pursuant to the authority conferred by Chapter 35.62 RCW there is hereby created a planning commission consisting of five members who shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the town council and who shall be residents and/or property owners of the town.

B. The term of office for the first appointive members appointed by the mayor shall be designated from one to six years to expire in rotation on the second Monday in January in each succeeding year so that the fewest possible terms will expire in any one year. Thereafter the term of office for each appointive member shall be six years.

C. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of terms shall be filled for the unexpired terms. Members may be removed, after public hearing by the mayor, with the approval of the town council, for inefficiency, neglect of duty, or malfeasance in office. Notice of the charge and pendency of the hearing with respect to the removal of a member of the planning commission shall be given by mail addressed to the residence of the accused member at least five days before the date of said hearing.

D. The members shall be selected without respect to political affiliations and they shall serve without compensation; provided, however, they may be reimbursed for expenses necessarily incurred in performing their official duties. [Ord. 276 § 2, 1993; Ord. 112 § 1, 1980.]